just failed

tvontvon Member Posts: 1 ■□□□□□□□□□
a score in the low 500's. what a farce... i'm an IT professional with years of network experience under my belt. I just passed a networking course at the Harvard extension school with a very high grade. Yet i missed this. Waaay too many Novell (who uses this anymore?) and Wireless questions (ok people actually use this but it was way over emphasized).

My question.. do IT managers even care about this cert? and secondly, do they offer any sort of re-taking discount? I simply cannot afford to be taking tests on obscure technology's.

Comments

• boyles23boyles23 Member Posts: 130
    I assume that you didn't read a book for the certification but just went and took it. The network + covers a broad range of topics, so you have to be ready for about any type of question. Network + is an entry level cert and it matters to some and doesn't to others, so it is hard to say who cares about it. Most people use it as a stepping stone for learning basic network technologies and as a kinda stepping stone for the CCNA.

As for Novell, I can say that in our town there is one hospital here that has a strictly Novell network! So someone uses it. :)

My $.02.

:D
  • snadamsnadam Member Posts: 2,234 ■■■■□□□□□□
    just be glad you didnt get hit with appletalk either (I did). It is quite a broad exam. Just study up on Novell and you should be fine.

Net+, like boyles23 said, its an entry level, stepping stone, and foundation cert. Not sure about the discount on comptia, but MS has thier "second shot" promo.

either way, welcome and good luck in the future!
    **** ARE FOR CHUMPS! Don't be a chump! Validate your material with certguard.com search engine

:study: Current 2015 Goals: JNCIP-SEC JNCIS-ENT CCNA-Security
  • sthomassthomas Member Posts: 1,240 ■■■□□□□□□□
    boyles23 wrote:
    As for Novell, I can say that in our town there is one hospital here that has a strictly Novell network! So someone uses it.