System board extension for PnP BIOS -Code=10/ Transcender?

rome007rome007 Member Posts: 3 ■□□□□□□□□□
icon_mad.gif I'm studying for my A+ OS Exam and what do you know I got an icon_exclaim.gif beside the System board extension for PnP BIOS in Device manager .

-I tried uninstalling and reinstalling it , that didn't work.

-It's driving my crazy cause I'm going to be a tech in the near future but I can't fix this one issue. The OS is WINme. I know after I pass the OS Exam I'm going to XP.

-Do I need to update my BIOS?

Also what do you think about Transcender for a studying tool for the test? icon_eek.gif

Comments

• WebmasterWebmaster Admin Posts: 10,292 Admin
    Windows 98, ME, 2000 and XP use the Advanced Configuration and Power Interface (ACPI) BIOS interface to configure motherboard devices and retrieve system information. But you probably noticed that already. (I assume your machine it running fine....right?)

What are your BIOS settings regarding PnP and ACPI? (if any ;) )

Although this is generaly not adviced: I always update the BIOS of my mainboards and videocards whenever there's a newer version, especially when there's a problem related to the BIOS, just to rule out another possible cause.

There's a slight chance you need to do a reinstall of windows ME after you updated the BIOS (an upgrade usually works and will keep your current settings and programs.)
    rome007 wrote:
    Also what do you think about Transcender for a studying tool for the test?

I haven't used the A+ OS Transcenders myself, although it I did for many other exams, but I can say this: I don't have banners of Transcender on this site because they are the most rewarding for us, there are other advertisers willing to offer more or a higher percentage of sale. I choose Transcender banners because they provide a very good product, maybe even the best, but that's a matter of opinion and depends on which exam you're taking.