O.Reilly's A+, Network+, Security+ in a nutshell?

davidvoyagedavidvoyage Member Posts: 22 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hi everybody, I currently have no certifications and I'm studying for the Network+ cert. However, I don't know if I'm going to take the exams, because I just want to have the "knowledge" of it. I'm currently looking for a job as a desktop support/technician. Is this book good for reference and a good aid for desktop support?

Also, if I decide to take the exams in the future, is this good enough? (Together with Video Training(CBT or Testout) on A+, Network+ and security+)
Is it worth buying this book?

Thank you.

here is the link for the book:
http://www.oreilly.com/catalog/9780596528249/

Comments

• sthomassthomas Member Posts: 1,240 ■■■□□□□□□□
    Studying for Network+ is a good way to prepare for a Desktop Support type job. I would also recommend A+ and a Microsoft certification like MCP/MCDST and then when you get some experience MCSA.

It is good that you want to learn the material more than just getting certified but I am curious to know why you do not want to take the exams? A+ along with Net+ or a Microsoft cert will increase your chances of landing a job although they are not always required.
    Working on: MCSA 2012 R2
  • davidvoyagedavidvoyage Member Posts: 22 ■□□□□□□□□□
    sthomas wrote:
    Studying for Network+ is a good way to prepare for a Desktop Support type job. I would also recommend A+ and a Microsoft certification like MCP/MCDST and then when you get some experience MCSA.

It is good that you want to learn the material more than just getting certified but I am curious to know why you do not want to take the exams? A+ along with Net+ or a Microsoft cert will increase your chances of landing a job although they are not always required.