Maximum Length for Wireless Access Point

cgrimaldocgrimaldo Member Posts: 439 ■■■■□□□□□□
How do I figure out max length for a wireless internet signal using a 802.11g standard?

This in reference to an earlier thread I made about network diagrams.

I basically have a two-story, 62 room motel. From one end of the motel to the other spans about 330 feet. If I need a signal to reach both stories and all over the motel, how many access points do you think I would need? Where do you think I should place them?

Is there an easy way to do the math and figure out what I will need? I'm new to this and would appreciate your help.

Thanks again!

Comments

• dtlokeedtlokee Member Posts: 2,378 ■■■■□□□□□□
    For 802.11g in an open air environment will give you 54mb/s up o 90 feet or so, but it drops off fast when there are walls or other things in the way, I think it will max out around 300ft at 6mb/2 or so.
    The only easy day was yesterday!
  • Silver BulletSilver Bullet Member Posts: 676 ■■■□□□□□□□
    AFAIK, there isn't a magical equation to do what you are asking. The are many factors that come into play when trying to determine the number of WAPs to use and their spacing. One of the most important I believe would be Line of Sight. Which includes the number of walls, type of walls etc that the signal has to go through.

I think you will be better off getting one or two AP and going onsite to see what kind of coverage you get with them. Then you may be able to get a better guesstimate on the total number needed as well as optimal placement.
  • NetstudentNetstudent Member Posts: 1,693 ■■■□□□□□□□
    There is no place like 127.0.0.1 BUT 209.62.5.3 is my 127.0.0.1 away from 127.0.0.1!
  • JDMurrayJDMurray Admin Posts: 13,023 Admin