how to reset winXP networking

rajunplrajunpl Member Posts: 22 ■□□□□□□□□□
I am using network of 4 computers in my home. I have router behind the hub. Master computer who is actually connected to internet is using Xp pro. Rest are using xp home and pros.

having router behind the hubs is not a question of ICS. But i am having problem in sharing the files between the computers. In XPhome edition I cannot even see the netcoontion properties, thoough the ICS is stable and having problem only in msn and hotmail.

I actually want to reset the whole networking system , Does anyone know how to?

help will be much appreceated.

Comments

• blackguymdblackguymd Member Posts: 54 ■■□□□□□□□□
    Im a novice at networking but let me give this a try.

If you have a router why are you using ICS ? I was under the assumption that all routers support Cable and DSL connections and you just need just plug your Internet Connection into the upload port on the routher and share that way....i could be wrong though.

To answer your question I would **** ICS. Have your internet connection shared at the router so others can access the net without your computer being on all the time.

Make sure all your connections are connected properly (so that you get a local area connection thingy in network connections) and make sure you have MS file and Printer sharing installed/enabled (whatever) and also make sure you configure on each computer any particular drives/folders you would like to shake.

icon_cool.gif
  • aznluvsmcaznluvsmc Member Posts: 47 ■■□□□□□□□□
    To answer your questions about sharing files, ensure that you have a DHCP server giving out IP addresses or you've assigned static IP addresses to each computer. Also, make sure all the computers belong to the same workgroup.

If you cannot access the network connections properties page properly in XP Home then, you have a problem. I don't see any reason why you wouldn't be able to see the properties page unless the OS is damaged.