postpone because of work

livenliven Member Posts: 918
Well I think I am going to push my test back from nov 5 to later in the month.

Why?

Well two reasons.

There is a lot of stuff on the current exam I never use at work (ISDN, RIP) and lots of things I do use (SSH, Port security, blah, blah blah)...

And I just got a new project at work.. I have to get extremely familiar with ASA/PIX/IPS... I have been using IPS/IDS systems for some time (other vendors), and I have used tons of different firewalls (once again other vendors/os etc.). But I have no experience with ASA....

This is going to be challenging, but I am pretty stoked. Like I said though, the down side is I am going to have to slow down the pursuit of my ccna. However, this will certainly make the steps toward my CCSP much easier. AT least I hope it will.

I really don't think I am 100% ready to take the test next week anyway. I would like to take it jsut 1 time. I have taken lots of cert tests, and when I feel very confident I always pass. THe only time I was not 100% confident in myself I failed. Currently I am not 100% confident....

So if any one has any tips on how to ramp up quicly on the ASA devices please let me know. I am not in the need of test advice, but just things to get me going.
encrypt the encryption, never mind my brain hurts.

Comments

• Kcolon1Kcolon1 Member Posts: 36 ■■□□□□□□□□
    Well I understand where you're coming from. Lucky you, at least you get to work with the stuff lol. But make sure you're pushing the 640-802 back, not the 640-801, cause that test is retired after the 6th...
  • PlazmaPlazma Member Posts: 503
    Good choice.. it takes a smart man to pass any Cisco test, but it takes a brilliant one to realize his situation and knows that he shall live to fight another day.
    CCIE - COMPLETED!
  • livenliven Member Posts: 918
    Thanks guys.