Test Tips

ultramkultramk Member Posts: 3 ■□□□□□□□□□
Just took the 70-290 this afternoon. Passed with a 799

I used the Microsoft Training Kit book, Transcender practice exams, and the MeasureUp tests that came with the book. I recommend the book highly not only because it came with the MeasureUp practices (which I believe more closely resembles the actual exam than the Transcender), but it came with a 15% off voucher.

I studied my butt off for the last 4 weeks (about 70 hours of studying??). I came from a Linux-only environment about 6 months ago to this job which is exclusively Windows. And while I was familiar and a competent Windows user I was not "up" on all the admin stuff like Active Directory and ASR Backups.

The best tip I have is absolutely review your answers at the end of the test (they give you a chance to review before you're done and you have plenty of time...took me 1.5 hours out of the 3 they limit you to). Read the questions carefully as they DO try and fool you. This was my first Windows cert. test and the first couple questions I would've totally missed if I hadn't gone back and re-read/fixed them (maybe it was nerves).

Lots of questions about Terminal Services and NTFS/Shared Permissions.

Now onto 70-228...wish me luck...

Comments

• sprkymrksprkymrk Member Posts: 4,884 ■■■□□□□□□□
    Welcome to the forums, congrats on the pass and good luck on your next one. :)
    All things are possible, only believe.
  • GoldmemberGoldmember Member Posts: 277
    Congratulations! :)
    I plan on taking the test next week...a few quick questions...

Were these exam topics on the test...I heard the are on the exam but sparingly

1)WSUS
    2)WMI and WMIC
    CCNA, A+. MCP(70-270. 70-290), Dell SoftSkills
  • ultramkultramk Member Posts: 3 ■□□□□□□□□□
    Goldmember: I think I only had one question on WSUS (and it was an easy one). I didn't get any on WMI/WMIC.
  • titantektitantek Member Posts: 53 ■■□□□□□□□□
  • ClaymooreClaymoore Member Posts: 1,637