Equipment, its beaten to death.. i know :)

tokhsstokhss Member Posts: 473
Ok, so i have ran the search function a few times now =)

what i am looking for is a kit thats good for the CCNA exam but is also sufficient for the CCNP exam..

yes, i just started studying for the CCNA and i plan on having all the equipment / labs/books/ref handy...

budget roughly 500 bucks for the routers/switches.. i can do more if needed but would like to keep it around this price.

from about 20 min of researching right now i have seen that i should stay away from the 1900s and get a 2900s switch? quantity 2

for routers.. pref a 2600 series is pref? quantity 2 ?

cables .. find cheapest?

i found this kit online .. pls let me know wwhat you think.. greatly appreciate the time spent reading this =)

http://ciscokits.com/cube/ccna-router-switch-kits/cisco-ccna-3-router-3-switch-lab-kit-/prod_92.html

Comments

• EdTheLadEdTheLad Member Posts: 2,111 ■■■■□□□□□□
    If you want to buy hardware buy 3 2950 Catalyst switches, a couple of nic cards for your pc,dont but any routers.Install dynamips on you PC, emulate a couple of routers and away you go.
    Networking, sometimes i love it, mostly i hate it.Its all about the $$$$
  • tokhsstokhss Member Posts: 473
    Ed,

thanks for your reply.... dynamips sounds like a good idea.. so all i really need is a few good switches and thats it? lol

newbie question, what about the hands on experience.. router cable switch .. etc .etc.. ??

thanks
  • Darthn3ssDarthn3ss Member Posts: 1,096
    you could pick up a say 2950's and a 2620... or if you shop well maybe ven 2 2950's and a 2600XM series router.
    Fantastic. The project manager is inspired.

In Progress: 70-640, 70-685
    thanks for the replies.. can more people join this discussion please.. would like to know what others would do :)

Thank you
  • dtlokeedtlokee Member Posts: 2,378 ■■■■□□□□□□
    tokhss wrote: