Options

Should i start on MCSE now?

oRis1024oRis1024 Member Posts: 9 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hey there, i have been browsing and reading through these forums a lot, - lots of good info :)

But here is my question. I'm a student going for both Associate in Networking Technology and AS in InfoSec. There's a good overlap in required courses, so both degrees can be completed in two years. I should be able to take CCNA and Security+ exams in the end, because the college uses Cisco and CompTIA curricula, i though that was good :).
My question is, should i start on studying for at least some Microsoft exams now (since there's a whole lot for MCSE and i'm planning to get it anyway)? Or should i focus on the Cisco and InfoSec stuff while in college?
What i'm concerned about is what i'll have BESIDES my 2 degrees after two years in college. As to experience, I plan on taking an internship of some kind next year.

So, i would appreciate any advice as to what to learn, where to aim, and how to pace myself. And of course MCSE - should i bother now, or wait until completion of AS degrees(Summer 2009)?

Thank you all in advance, any comments are welcome :)

Comments

• Options
    dynamikdynamik Banned Posts: 12,312 ■■■■■■■■■□
    If you're not even going to potentially use your Microsoft certifications for another two years, you might want to wait and just start with the 2008 exams which will become available in the near future. It's definitely not going to hurt you to get your 2003 MCSE, but that cert's going to be approaching 7 years old by the time you're ready to use it. You might want to work ahead and see if you can start chipping away at a CCNP or something. Just don't spread yourself too thin and burn out. It's really up to you. There's no set order; just do whatever interests you.
  • Options
    Daniel333Daniel333 Member Posts: 2,077 ■■■■■■□□□□
    Focus on your degree for now man. The certs are secondary at best.

Generally the DeVry AA degree ends in the person getting: