Options

Helpdesk Interview Tommorow, getting cold feet.

JaibuckJaibuck Member Posts: 1 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hello glad to be part of the community this is my first post and I'm really reaching out for help here. My name is Tom, I'm 20 years old, and I graduated from highschool back in 2005. I've been with this company named severn trent services for about a year now as a shipper/receiver/picker and this is pretty much my first "genuine" job that I've had since I graduated, everything else has been part time and such. Well now theres 2 positions opened up in the IT department, which I've submitted a statement of interest for, to help revamp/run helpdesk and just improve things by starting to track assets/their age and make sure all programs are properly licensed (were going thru a microsoft audit right now). Obviously theres a lot more to it than that but this just gives you a basic idea. Now my problem is that because I have absolutely no training/schooling, certifications, and only basic technical knowledge that I will be wasting my time at the interview tommorow and might feel discouraged by how bad I get owned during the technical "grilling" by two employees with their bachelors. Now I AM very good with computers I have a natural talent and am mostly hands on but I'm completely "homegrown" and I just don't feel that this is a good Idea because to my understanding they are first going to get to know what I'm like as a person and then I'm gonna get questions fired at me like "how will you install windows and syteline on 50 computers" and then probably a lot questions involving acronyms and shortcuts and... you get the idea. So I'm just looking for some general insight on the situation, what you think I should do, and if you think I should go for it what should I brush up on tonight. Thanks for taking the time.

Comments

• Options
    stevchastevcha Member Posts: 50 ■■□□□□□□□□