studying advice...

Univ3rs@lUniv3rs@l Member Posts: 25 ■□□□□□□□□□
how do you guys use notecards in studying for certifications?

I find my self using them alot but when I studied for my last exam (CCNA) I had about four hundred notecards. I felt that I was trying to hard to remember every little detail. I wasn't successful with this method and I was so bogged down with information that I was very unorginized. When I took the test, most of what I studied wasn't on the exam and I felt that I missed the main points. I did not make the passing score and I decided to move on to another exam. I really want to study this right and I know that if something really works, the brain picks up rather quickly on the information. I just know what I am doing is not right and it takes me forever to learn the information....

Comments

• dynamikdynamik Banned Posts: 12,312 ■■■■■■■■■□
    You really need to get hands-on experience to genuinely learn the material. You can setup a few virtual machines for your Microsoft studies or purchase a few routers and switches for your Cisco studies. Most test questions are going to involve you going through a scenario and performing the appropriate task(s). Simply memorizing terminology will not help you with this type of test format. You really need to put forth some extra effort in order to connect the dots. You'll also find that you'll retain information better when you're actually applying it.
  • Univ3rs@lUniv3rs@l Member Posts: 25 ■□□□□□□□□□
    dynamik wrote: