Question about how to update your resume you are promoted.

Matt_SmiMatt_Smi Member Posts: 111 ■■■□□□□□□□
So I am sure this is a common one, but right now I am working at a company as a desktop support analyst, I have only been there for six mouths but there is a good chance I am going to be getting a promotion and becoming the “Senior” desktop support analyst/team lead. I will have one full timer and two interns working with me. I can’t believe I could be getting a promotion like this and I am only 22. Anyway on resumes I have seen this done two ways, they are as follows…

Just put it all under one description with whatever the highest title you were at when you left the company.

Make a separate heading, like you were adding a new job and list the date when you were promoted, you’re new responsibilities, ect.

Which one do you guys think looks better?

Comments

• blargoeblargoe Member Posts: 4,174 ■■■■■■■■■□
    If your responsibilities changed significantly I would put it under a separate heading under that employer, personally. I have used the "highest title achieved only" method and have had to answer questions about that in the past.
    IT guy since 12/00

Recent: 11/2019 - RHCSA (RHEL 7); 2/2019 - Updated VCP to 6.5 (just a few days before VMware discontinued the re-cert policy...)
    Working on: RHCE/Ansible
    Future: Probably continued Red Hat Immersion, Possibly VCAP Design, or maybe a completely different path. Depends on job demands...
  • brad-brad- Member Posts: 1,218
    Well...a resume is just one page. Space is limited. I like to just put the highest level reached for each employer...and if they have any questions about it, thats what an interview is for.