Options

Better to do self-study for CCNA?

pad10029pad10029 Member Posts: 27 ■□□□□□□□□□
i'm just getting started on the CCNA and i'm wondering which is the best way to go about it. is it better to do the self-study thing or take a class?

the classes i've checked out are pricy ($2000 and up). but i just got my mcsa and i did it on my own cause courses i looked at cost 5k and up.

with mcsa, i had some experience as a admin and i had a home lab.i don't have a lot of experience with routers and i don't own any routers. so i figured that i could take a class at an institution that had the equipment that i could practice on.

so long story short... i could take a class for a few thousands or do self-study and buy a couple of routers to practice on. which do you think would be cheaper and/or best for me to learn the material?

Comments

• Options
    Ricka182Ricka182 Member Posts: 3,359
    I'm not taking classes because cost was the main deterrent, the second was the fact that with my own lab, I can practice whenever I want, and always add on if needed. When classes end, they're over. I'm currently saving to buy some used routers and switches to add to my lab. I'm trying for 2 routers and 2 switches, with all the assorted cables and such. The lab will hopefully consist of a master and a slave server, with 3, maybe 4 client machines. I'm lucky enough to get a good deal on some refurbished hardware. Anyway, good luck either way.
    i remain, he who remains to be....
  • Options
    kicker22kicker22 Member Posts: 80 ■■□□□□□□□□
    I've done it by myself, and I did well in my exam.. I got 99.7% on it..
    well, it did take me sometime but I did have some past experience with networking..

Anyway, if you think about it... with that money that you will spend on boot camp or whatever.. you can buy a sweet lab (routers and switches) and learn from it forever :)
    Now, I only suggest that you learn by yourself if you want to learn and you are hard working guy..