Where to start?

dpolanddpoland Member Posts: 10 ■□□□□□□□□□
I'm just about to finish my degree in entrepreneurship, and while working on launching a project on the side I need to get out of retail and start making some real money. I know linux very well, and windows enough that I could pass a few certs with self-study.

My question is, what kind of probability do I have of getting a job with just certs? It can be low level, I don't mind and I think once a company sees my skills I'll advance anyway.

The biggest problem is I have no professional experience as far as IT is concerned. As far as my degree- I haven't found many companys looking for the entrepreneur mindset, I'm just way too rounded and not specialized enough for any specific positions except maybe marketing. Which I'd like to avoid like the plague.

Another option is maybe the microsoft or cisco track? I think I might have some trouble with cisco though and I notice most job listings want experience along with a cisco cert. The couple jr linux admin jobs I've looked at seem more forgiving on experience, which I thought was kinda surprising.

Thoughts?

edit: also, does anyone know if you can take LPIC 1 and 2 in the same sitting?

Comments

• dynamikdynamik Banned Posts: 12,312 ■■■■■■■■■□
    What is your end goal? If you're not looking for a long-term career in IT, you might be better off spending your time on something else. It's going to take a few years of experience before you make any headway in an IT career, and if you're just looking to do something for while you get your other project off the ground, I really think you're going to be wasting your time. Also, I'm not sure what your definition of "real money" is, but I don't think it's too likely that you're going to find it in an entry-level position.

If this is something you want to pursue, I'd start with the CompTIA exams: A+, Network+, Security+, and Linux+.