Equipment or Simulator

goldorakgoldorak Member Posts: 23 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hi all,

I am just about to start CCNA.

What is the difference between getting a couple or routers and switches and using Boson Netsim 5.25.
I would immagine it is best to use the real thing but I have Boson Netsim 5.25 if i purchase the hardware, will it make that much of a difference?

Any thoughts, idea welcome... icon_wink.gif

Thank you very much for you time.
Goldorak
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
A little knowledge is dangerous...

Comments

• Ricka182Ricka182 Member Posts: 3,359
    Personally, I have no experience with Boson Sims, but for when I study my CCNA(eventually), I am currently saving to buy the hardware. It will always come in handy to practice on. If you look, you can find a good deal somewhere.
    i remain, he who remains to be....
  • goldorakgoldorak Member Posts: 23 ■□□□□□□□□□
    Thanks.

I would have thought that it doesn't really matter what hardware spec you have but more the version of ios. Correct?
    Also, trying to look a bit further down the road, CCNP is not something that i would not consider so what do you reckon.

Ta.
    Goldorak
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
    I am trying to get at least two 26xx series routers, and 2 19xx switches. Plus all the assorted cables and such. You can find good deals on Ebay.
  • WebmasterWebmaster Admin Posts: 10,292 Admin
    goldorak wrote:
    Thanks.

I would have thought that it doesn't really matter what hardware spec you have but more the version of ios. Correct?
    The hardware specs are at least as important, you will need routers with at least ethernet and serial connectors. Check out the following two links:
    icon_arrow.gifwww.techexams.net/forums/viewtopic.php?t=3349
    icon_arrow.gifwww.techexams.net/technotes/ccna/lab_hardware.shtml
    Thank you guys,

Since I might do CCNP next, i'm probably better off going for the real stuff. Could be quiet expensive though!