MS Press for 293

dynamikdynamik Banned Posts: 12,312 ■■■■■■■■■□
I've heard plenty of bad things about this, so I purchased the Syngress book.

My only question is, what was bad about this book? I was curious if the practice tests and lab exercises were of any use. I have a Safari subscription, so it wouldn't cost me any more to go back over those once I finish the Syngress book. If those aren't up to par though, I won't waste my time.

TIA

Comments

• taktsoitaktsoi Member Posts: 224
    My only question is, what was bad about this book?

Bad, we can't say it is bad but the book is just off-focusing in the main topics, such as CA, PKI, and IPSEC. it is unexpectedly short and lack the details. When I take the practice exams from the CD of the book, I cannot even find the answers from the book but Google. I guess now you could imagine... :D

I am still on the way to 293 because I wasted the time by reading this book. I am reading other book now and hopefully I am ready to take the exam in January or February.

Good luck and Merry Xmas.
    mean people SUCK !!! BACK OFF !!!
    The Next Stop is, MCSE 2003 and CCNA.
    Bachelors of Technology in 1 More Year.

-Working on CCENT. Thank you my love <3
  • MarphyreMarphyre Member Posts: 8 ■□□□□□□□□□
    Hmm, all I used was the MSPress book for 293 and I passed it first time. Doesn't go into great deal (ie, I wouldn't set any of it up in real life with only this book), but it gave enough detail for the exam I thought. I've liked the MSPress titles until 297, I used ExamCram and Sybex on 270 and 290 (my first 2 tests and wasn't sure what to expect, bought up all of the big name books), but I've passed 284, 285 (using 284 book and MSPress Exchange Resource Kit), 291, 293, and 294 all using just MSPress titles and 2-3 years hands-on experience.

I didn't use the measure up tests with them, so I can't speak much for that part of them other than the program looked like it was written by a 3rd grader...