Options

Didn't Pass 601

PingKingPingKing Member Posts: 14 ■□□□□□□□□□
I took the 220-601 this morning and I didn't pass (640)
675 is a pass, so I only missed by 4 questions

I'm new to IT - 15 months - but I already have my Net+ and didn't have an issue with passing that.

I've used this site and materials,
I bought the "CompTIA Complete A+ Study Guide" Text Book - 2006 objectives.
online tests,
self quizzing, you name it.

when I got out of the test, I had to ask if I took the correct test or not . . .

here is why:
there was almost nothing about hardware,
2 questions on printers and neither one was technical,
nothing about IRQ's, DMA's, I/O addressing, processors, RAM, sockets/CPU types, drives,

I'm finding it hard to believe that I spent the last 6-8 weeks studying the wrong stuff.

Anyone else feel my pain . . ?
the ease of Plug n' Play is inversely proportionate to the executive level of the user hovering over your shoulder . . .

Comments

• Options
    147147 Member Posts: 117
    nothing about IRQ's, DMA's, I/O addressing, processors, RAM, sockets/CPU types, drives,

I'm really sorry to hear that. I hope you don't get too discouraged- be sure to give it another shot.

I'm using Exam Cram 2 and the A+ 2006 In Depth books. The Exam Cram lists every detail about the I/Os and IRQs while the In Depth book seems to list everything you would ever want to know (and then some) about processors, chipsets and sockets/slots. I was planning on spending a huge amount of time committing these items to memory but I would rather focus on things that will actually be on the test.

Since the objectives repeatedly state you should be able to "Identify the names, purposes and characteristics of X...", specific direction is kindof vague.