Options

Questions to ask when buying a used router?

EJizzelEJizzel Member Posts: 94 ■■□□□□□□□□
I think i found a good router for sale listed on the internet ($50 local pickup, but im gonna try to bring him down to $40) and I was wondering what would be some good questions to ask to see if its right for me. The router is a 2500 series and Im currently studying for the CCENT and would like to use this for some hands on experience.

Comments

• Options
    dynamikdynamik Banned Posts: 12,312 ■■■■■■■■■□
    Which 2500 is it? You can get a 2501 for $10 on ebay while the 2511 will go for anywhere from $100-200. How much memory does it have? You may need to spend another $5-10 to max it out. As long as it powers up and you can enter commands, you should be alright.
  • Options
    networker050184networker050184 Mod Posts: 11,962 Mod
    Does it work? That should be your main question.
    An expert is a man who has made all the mistakes which can be made.
  • Options
    tech-airmantech-airman Member Posts: 953
    EJizzel wrote:
    I think i found a good router for sale listed on the internet ($50 local pickup, but im gonna try to bring him down to $40) and I was wondering what would be some good questions to ask to see if its right for me. The router is a 2500 series and Im currently studying for the CCENT and would like to use this for some hands on experience.

Ejizzel,

What study materials do you have so far?
  • Options
    NetstudentNetstudent Member Posts: 1,693 ■■■□□□□□□□
    I would ask:

has it been tested?
    Do all the interfaces function?
    What version IOS is loaded?
    Are you going to refund my money if it does not work?
    There is no place like 127.0.0.1 BUT 209.62.5.3 is my 127.0.0.1 away from 127.0.0.1!
  • Options
    EJizzelEJizzel Member Posts: 94 ■■□□□□□□□□

Ejizzel,

What study materials do you have so far?

I have Cisco press CCENT/CCNA , Sybex 5th edition and Boson Netsim.
  • Options
    freetechfreetech Member Posts: 154