Need Advice on New Job Offer

I've been offered a position as a Help Desk Manager that will manage an unknown amount of Help Desk Technician...basically a call center. The position will boast a 10K salary increase from what I'm making now for the first few months of probation, then another 10K after the probation period.

I'm currently a SA doing all of the network/system administration I've trained for and love it. The only reason I'm even considering it is because of more money, less stress (I find Help Desk easy and boring sometimes...I was a manager before), and possibly a way to stay and move up in the I.T. Management field.

What do you guys think?
B.S.B.A. (Management Information Systems)
M.B.A. (Technology Management)

Comments

• CorySCoryS Member Posts: 208
    Well, I have learned the hard way that a boost in money is usually not a good reason to leave a position that you love. However, if the amount of money was large (like 20k large like you said) and the position that I would be moving into wasnt a craphole which you would have to determine through your interview process, well then, I would say by all means. Thats a boatload more money dude.

... remember though to see yourself a year or two down the road filling this role, and always try and see if you will have the chance to advance or get back into system administration if thats what you really like.

Congrats though, sounds promising.
    MCSE tests left: 294, 297 |
  • amyamandaallenamyamandaallen Member Posts: 316
    No brainer!

I'd do it. You can always keep your hand in with some support if you fancied a bit of hands on once in a while icon_wink.gif
    Remember I.T. means In Theory ( it should works )
  • famosbrownfamosbrown Member Posts: 637