Getting Into IT

KevyKevy Member Posts: 5 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hi guys i'm new here and i 'm from the UK and currently i'm working for a hotel doing not an interesting job and i have come to a decision to get into IT,I have ZERO experience in this field although i have basic computer skills , I 'm 30yrs old and i consider myself to be good enough to do any course as i have been to A Level equivalent of high schooll in America and done a diploma so my level of understanding is up there,but its just that i have been lazy to be stuck in low paying boring job for several years.

my question what sort of career path shld i take, i wanted to go for the 2 exams route to CNNA or take the A+ and N+ and do you think it will be easy for me to get into the field when i have the certs , i have plenty of time to study

Comments

• SlowhandSlowhand Mod Posts: 5,161 Mod
    Your best might be to start with A+ and Network+, to gauge yourself and see where your skills are, versus what's expected of you. It'll also give you a chance to start doing some hands-on practice with computer hardware, software, and networking equipment. Once you have them, working towards the CCNA is a good idea, or you can look at other certs like Linux+, Server+, the Microsoft path, or any other number of things out there. The best thing you can do, though, seeing as how you have no formal experience in the field, is to make sure that you set up equipment at home to practice with. It doesn't have to be work experience you put on your resume, (but that helps,) you just need to make sure that you've actually used and trained with the technologies you're getting certified on.