IPT Field Engineer

darkfibredarkfibre Member Posts: 22 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hello,

Firstly, great forum.

Well let's get straight into it. Has anyone in here done a role like the one stated in the subject? What is being a field engineer like? It seems like a great experience opportunity, but is there anything I should look out for?

I have done a search on the forum to try and find out the ins and outs of becoming a field engineer but didn't have much luck. Can anyone shed any light?

A bit of a background on the situation...I have a job opportunity to deploy Cisco IPT as a field engineer, but it is a completely new role for me, something I have never done so naturally I am a bit anxious. You work on client sites, but you don't know where you are going to be each week it seems.

I explained to the employer that I have no voice/CCM experience and only basic data experience, but that didn't seem to phase them, saying that I should be able to pick it up quick enough. The other bit is that I did not apply for this role...I was recommended, so I took the opportunity to find out a bit more about it as voice does interest me.

It's funny, I have this opportunity and all of a sudden I'm looking like a deer in headlights because I am not very conversant with IPT. I guess I just don't want to bite off more than I can chew...I have started reading up on CVoice and it is certainly 'one mile wide, one mile deep', as someone kindly suggested on this forum, compared to CCNA. For some reason CVoice concepts are taking some time for me to digest icon_confused.gif

Is it possible for a newbie like me to pick up voice by working on deployments without any real voice knowledge, voice certs or experience? I only have my CCNA. I think my confidence would be higher if I had maybe one or two CCVP exams or Cisco Press books under my belt before starting the job, just so I have some familiararity, you know?

Sorry for the long post, but it would be great to hear people's opinions on this...