Beginning certification quest - need help - (MCSA/MCSE)

PJC42PJC42 Member Posts: 4 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hi everyone, i'm a college graduate with a diploma in the computer systems technician program. In the program, I had hands on experience working with Novell netware, Windows Server 2003, Windows XP, wireless networking, and network security. I also had two courses, which prepared the class for the network+ and A+ exams. Anyways, after finishing college I have now decided to persue the wonderful path known as certification. I have a few questions that maybe the more experienced IT people on this site could help me with. I have decided to persue MCSE. I have read the Microsoft website and understand what is needed to achieve MCSE status. I was wondering if it is possible to use network+ towards MCSE in anyway or is it seperate all on it's own having nothing to do with MCSE? The reason being is that the network+ will help me brush up on networking foundations so it will be essential for me. I understand that working towards MCSA you need both the A+ and network+ certifications. Out of personal preference I would choose MCSE over MCSA eventhough there is more work to be done, but it will pay off later on. On a side note, I really don't wish to obtain the A+ or server+ certifications. Now, considering that I am interested in MCSE, would most of you recommend that I start off with network+ and then lean towards MCSE or should I just go straight for it? Also, this might sound like a stupid question, but when I decide to go towards MCSE, is there any particular order that I must complete the exams in? This was my general plan:

1) Network+ (Nothing to do with MCSE)

and/or

2) 70-270 Windows XP (related to MCSE: Client operating system)

3) 70-620 Windows Vista (related to MCSE: Elective)
**Awesome how Vista is available as an option for an elective**

4) 70-290 (Networking exam 1)

5) 70-291 (Networking exam 2)

6) 70-293 (Networking exam 3)

7) 70-294 (Networking exam 4)