Passed, woohoo!!

aaronjaaronj Member Posts: 15 ■□□□□□□□□□
Passed with a score of 650, not as good as what I thought I would get but at least it was a passing grade. I was very surprised by the lack of OSI model, Apple/Netware protocols, Cable types, Connectors, and Port questions which I studied the most on this past week.

I had at least 4 ICMP questions which I found surprising and several wireless 802.11 questions.

So now that I have gotten the A+ and Network+ out of the way I'm leaning towards going for my MCSA since the elective is out of the way. Is the 2003 MCSA still the one go shoot for, I heard there is a 2008 that is out now or will be out soon.

Also thanks to this website and the community for some very helpful information!

Comments

• dynamikdynamik Banned Posts: 12,312 ■■■■■■■■■□
    Congratulations on the pass!

I would start with Configuring Vista, 70-620 since that can be applied to either the MCSA/MCSE or the Server 2008 Server/Enterprise Administrator tracks. That'll give you some time to make up your mind ;)

Remember that while the N+/A+ combo will count as an elective for the MCSA, it does not for the MCSE.
  • dax_kundax_kun Member Posts: 20 ■□□□□□□□□□
    They said 2003 will be still around for a few more years and a lot of companies are still using Server 2003. I say it's still a good idea to get it.
  • mikej412mikej412 Member Posts: 10,086 ■■■■■■■■■■
    Congratulations! icon_thumright.gif

There are still applications that have to be loaded on Windows Server 2000 -- so I wouldn't worry about a 2003 Certification becoming useless any time soon. :D

Plus if you get the 2003 and then upgrade, at a quick glance you'll look like you've been around IT longer than someone who just gets the "new one."

Or you could do the CCNA while you wait for things to settle down and shake out in the Microsoft Certification world :D
    :mike: Cisco Certifications -- Collect the Entire Set!
  • SlowhandSlowhand Mod Posts: 5,161 Mod