Networking (Where to start?)

MG79MG79 Member Posts: 6 ■□□□□□□□□□
Evening All,

I currently have my MCSA and interested in studying for some Networking certs.

I have little 'networking' knowledge and before my studies begin for CCNA (which is my 1st goal) is there any advice on other networking certs and / or books, before I attempt this?

Is CCNA to much for someone with little networking knowledge? Any advice much appreciated?

Ta

Comments

• SlowhandSlowhand Mod Posts: 5,161 Mod
    CCNA is probably a good goal to set for yourself, at this point. A lot of the networking concepts you learned doing 70-291 will help you, especially subnetting and ip addressing. Take a look at the objectives for CCNA, decide if you want to do the 1-exam or 2-exam option, and see where you want to go from there. If you feel like the material is too difficult, or that you're missing some foundational concepts, check out CompTIA's Network+ certification.

Free Microsoft Training: Microsoft Learn
    Free PowerShell Resources: Top PowerShell Blogs
    Free DevOps/Azure Resources: Visual Studio Dev Essentials

Let it never be said that I didn't do the very least I could do.
  • dynamikdynamik Banned Posts: 12,312 ■■■■■■■■■□
    You might want to start with the Network+ if you feel that shaky about your networking skills.

However, you've obviously gone through 291 since you have your MCSA. How did you feel about the networking material in that exam? It's certainly nothing to scoff at. Moving on to the CCNA after that isn't too big of a leap.

When you say "networking knowledge," are you referring to physical equipment and things like cabling? It just seems like you should have developed a solid foundation in networking as you progressed through the MCSA.

[edit]
    This is what you get when you open up a bunch of threads in different tabs and don't respond right away... Slowhand sneaks in. Good answer SH :D
  • MG79MG79 Member Posts: 6 ■□□□□□□□□□