Florida hot spots....where are the jobs??

Hi I'm wondering where are the best places in Florida to get an It position??

reason I'm asking is my gf is currently seeking employment there as a teacher we are living in Canada right no but I am a US citizen and she is hoping ot get sponsored for a VISA through a contact my family has with the school boards in Florida

Currently we live several in separate provinces ( same as states) because she had to leave for work and the area she is it has zero for IT prospects for they pay too little

I have 5 years experience 2.5 of helpdesk, 1.5 as a systems admin and I also did about a year of database work

so what areas are hot beds for IT jobs so we can both be employed and be together??

Comments

• JDMurrayJDMurray Admin Posts: 13,023 Admin
    Your best chance of IT opportunities are always in the big cities. In Florida, this would be Miami, Hollywood/Ft. Lauderdale, West Palm Beach, Orlando (Disney World), Tampa, Tallahassee (state capitol) and Jacksonville. Look on dice.com for helpdesk/IT/networking jobs in Florida and see what cities they are grouped in. Teachers are needed everywhere, so it's most important to discover where are the worst school districts and to avoid them.

Florida has some pretty bad freeway traffic, so unless you both live very close to where you work, plan on each having your own car. And unless you really love heat and humidity, air conditioning in your home/car/business is a must.
  • sir_creamy_sir_creamy_ Inactive Imported Users Posts: 298
    Smallguy wrote:
    she is hoping ot get sponsored for a VISA through a contact my family has with the school boards in Florida

You may want to consider TN status if the H-1B visa doesn't work out:

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/TN_visa
    Bachelor of Computer Science

[Forum moderators are my friends]
  • SmallguySmallguy Member Posts: 597
    Smallguy wrote: