should i make a fuss about WEP?

hugoluckyhugolucky Member Posts: 38 ■■□□□□□□□□
Im not on the CWNP track, but this seemed like a good place to ask my question

Im a new IT tech, only been onboard for 3 months, and i find myself in a position where im being told to do something that i feel i should not be doing, but im not sure because i have never configured a Cisco AP, only home-market AP's, i dont wanna make a fuss and look like a fool because of something i was not aware of about Cisco AP's, heres the story....

we are setting up a wireless LAN in a satellite office which connects to the main office via VPN tunnel, i was told that the AP's, which are high-end Cisco AP's (sorry i dont know the model), are configured for 128-bit WEP encryption, and i am to configure all the wireless thin terminals at that office, i was basically given the shared key and told to choose WEP

given that these are fairly new Cisco AP's, shouldnt WPA encrpytion be utilized instead of the easily hacked WEP, im not an expert at all on Cisco AP's but logic tells me that if they are less than a year old than they must offer WPA

basically the Cisco vendor configured the AP's, and has passed the config info on to my boss (who doesnt know jack about wireless), who passed it on to me to do the workstation setups

I STRONGLY FEEL I SHOULD NOT PROCEED USING WEP AND INSIST WE NOT PROCEED UNTIL THE AP'S ARE RECONFIGURED FOR WPA, the information traveling on that WLAN includes HIPAA sensitive personal medical data on our clients

but being a new employee i dont wanna make trouble and step on anyones toes, my boss keeps referring to the Cisco vendor as his 'network guy' and just follows his recomendations, i told my boss yesterday that WEP was lame and we should not be using it, he countered that 'his network guy' informed him that they are using a 128-bit key and are ok...