Qs? Packet Tracer -Networksims - Certexams Routersimulator

LBC90805LBC90805 Member Posts: 247
I would like to have some feedback on several simulator packages. My friend is letting me use his laptop for school that has Packet Tracer on it, which I just started learning last night; just fiddling around with it. I noticed that not too many folks here mention using Packet Tracer for their studies for the CCNA. Is there a particular reason for this?

Also I don't want to go out and spend ~$200 on RouterSim or Boson's Software, I feel that money might be better spent on a home lab. What are your thoughts on the following software:

Networksims at only $36
http://networksims.com/emulators.html

and

Certexams Routersimulator at $24.95
http://routersimulator.certexams.com/router-simulator.html

I'm having thoughts that Networksims would be the better product for me to buy.

Any input would be greatly appreciated.

Comments

• nelnel Member Posts: 2,859 ■□□□□□□□□□
    ive used packet tracer and its not bad. Although i thought the boson netsim was better which i tried on my friends laptop.

ive decided to go for a hands on lab approach because:

1. to give me hands on experiance with real kit to see the reactions when you pull a cable out or upgrading components etc and it will give me a feel for the real deal

2. because a lab can cost approx the same amount as a sim (depending on what you buy).

3. you can always sell a lab on

4. the sims dont always react to the exact manerisms of the real thing.
    Xbox Live: Bring It On

Bsc (hons) Network Computing - 1st Class
    WIP: Msc advanced networking
  • mikej412mikej412 Member Posts: 10,086 ■■■■■■■■■■