Drive Letters

w^rl0rdw^rl0rd Member Posts: 329
O.K. Now I'm really starting to get conflicting information. Let's say I have two IDE channels, two ports on each channel. On my primary IDE channel I have a Hard Drive set to master and a CD ROM set to slave. On my secondary IDE channel I have another Hard Drive set to master and a CDRW set to slave.

Now, according to Microsoft's A+ book, my drive letters will be assigned as follows:

Hard Drive #1 = C:
CD Rom = D:
Hard Drive #2 = E:
CDRW = F:

Isn't this incorrect?
According to Meyers' All In One, drive letters are assigned Primary partitions first, then extended.

I thought it would be assigned like this:
Hard Drive #1 = C:
Hard Drive #2 = D:
CD ROM = E:
CDRW = F:

Please, someone clear this up once and for all.

Comments

• milomoraimilomorai Member Posts: 3 ■□□□□□□□□□
    You are right and microsoft is wrong. i have just that setup and the letters are assigned to masters first then slaves, primary first then secondary.
  • w^rl0rdw^rl0rd Member Posts: 329
    Thanks milomorai.

According to Meyers, this is the order letters are assigned:

Primary partition on the primary master
    Primary partition on the primary slave
    Primary partition on the secondary master
    Primary partition on the secondary slave
    Logical partition on the primary master
    Logical partition on the primary slave
    Logical partition on the secondary master
    Logical partition on the secondary slave

So, even if my second hard drive was a slave on the secondary IDE channel, it should still be assigned D because it is the second primary partition.