Options

Peace of mind....

ArveanArvean Member Posts: 87 ■■□□□□□□□□
Hi guys,

Again I'd like your opinion like the last time.

I've been thinking about 2008/2009 for my life and I see a lot of decision to make. I have a dilemma right now in regards to certificates. I work as an office manager with some but very limited IT administation. My work is mostly office related,but after I'm done with school *in two years* I want to switch to media/IT related field. Recently I completed Project+, Network+ is next, but I'm wondering whether I should proceed with anything further right now.

My biggest concern is that I don't have that much contact with IT. I will learn the skills while preparing for certs, but not used they will blunt by the time of my graduation. Also by the time I get into the real field there might be another generation of certs.

Should I go ahead and do certs, or should I hold until I will be closer to my graduation?

I was also considering switching into entry-level IT position ( I used to work as desktop support for 2 years before) but I really feel good in this office ( they are reasonable with work and my school, etc).

Any advice will be highly appreciated.
No trees were killed in the posting of this message. However a large number of electrons were terribly inconvenienced.

Comments

• Options
    dynamikdynamik Banned Posts: 12,312 ■■■■■■■■■□
    Pick something you can keep working with. Go for your CCNA and CCNP. Completing both of those will take 1-2 years with school. You're not going to lose the knowledge because you're going to continue working with it as you progress with your studies.

Even if you do something else that doesn't build upon previous knowledge, you can keep your skills sharp with little effort. Just run through some practice tests and/or lab exercises every couple weeks.