I am so confuuuuuuuused... where is the path.

ChilleeBChilleeB Member Posts: 5 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hey guys,
I, probably like so many of you, want to pursue my MCSA/MCSE in the most expedient and productive way. In my area, people are looking for MCSA/MCSE certified employees. They also want CCNA and Exchange experience in many cases.

I have been in the field for about 7 years and am only now pursuing my certs. I have XP Pro under my belt (passed a few weeks ago), and have taken the 70-290 and 70-291 courses. I am studying for those 2 certs as I write this.

My dilemma: I do not have Exchange experience. I need to take an elective for MCSA and would like it to be the Exchange course, but the professors warn me against it without first taking the Active Directory courses. Yet, on the Microsoft site, they list the Exchange 2003 course as an elective for MCSA.

What gives? Professors say one thing, Microsoft doesn't make it clear one way or another.

Again, I need an elective and want to be efficient and expedient.

Any advice?

Thanks.

Comments

• royalroyal Member Posts: 3,352 ■■■■□□□□□□
    What I did:

70-270
    70-290
    70-291
    70-293
    70-294
    70-297
    70-284

Why in this order?
    70-290 - Basic server experience
    70-291 - DNS, Routing, IP Addressing, etc. all of which Exchange is built on top of
    70-293 - Certificates, PKI, NLB, and Clustering a lot of which certain Exchange functions are built on
    70-294 - Active Directory which Exchange is built on top of
    70-297 - Active Directory design which Exchange is built on top of. Knowing how to effectively design AD will help tremendously when building Exchange on top of it
    70-284 - After learning the above, you are now ready to take on the task to effectively learn how to build an Exchange environment on top of an existing Windows Domain Environment platform