Too many qualifications? over qualified :(

gazcartergazcarter Member Posts: 4 ■□□□□□□□□□
hi all,

am just looking for a little adivice, i used to work in the it industry a few years ago, for 6 years, building and repairing pcs, after that i moved into network administration for a year or so, before joining the royal marines, during my time in the industry i gained, nvq 2+3 in information technology, comptia net+, mcp - win2k pro. and did several other courses - windows 2000 mcse, and ccna, but never sat the exams and got the qualifications, as i planned on getting the experience to go with the qualifications, that is until i had a short career change. :)

i plan on serving another 3 years in her majestys finest, and plan on continuing with my studying during this time, however i dont want to over study and have too many qualifications for the experience i have.

my question is this, what certification path should i choose, so that i am not hindering my job prospects? im thinking; go as far as mcsa with ccna, and a few comptia certificates such as: a+, server+, security+. any further i think i may be over qualified for my lack of experience in the netwokring industry?

any advice will be greatly appreciated.

cheers

gaz

Comments

• gazcartergazcarter Member Posts: 4 ■□□□□□□□□□
    also with these qualifications, what kind of money would i be looking at earning as an administrator within the uk?

again thanks for your advice.

gaz
  • PlantwizPlantwiz Mod Posts: 5,057 Mod
    FWIW<

if you are selecting a career based on the money, then you will likely never be completely satisfied.

If you select your career path based on what you enjoy, then you'll find the money.

So, what aspects of IT do you enjoy most? That's the first question, from there you'll target certificiations in the areas you work with and those areas you may soon work with.
    Plantwiz
    _____