Newbie with no networking experience

PamelaDPamelaD Member Posts: 7 ■□□□□□□□□□
I have worked in the telecom field for about 10 years, have been with the same employer for 14 years. I started out on Siemens/ROLM, then Avaya for 6 years, now my company is installing 17 Cisco systems world wide. When I say I have no networking experience I mean specifically routers and switches. I have set up VoIP with 4-digit dialing between 5 locations with nothing but a manual to learn how and I have a good knowledge of IPT. I also do all of the programming for ACD. Personally, I think I have an advantage over someone who knows network but not voice. It's a whole other world and someone who really knows networking knows what I mean when I say that if there is something wrong on voice I almost always know what the problem is without having to look. I GET it and love what I do.

Next week we have an instructor coming to our office for CCVP Boot Camp for 4 people, all day for 5 days. I've also enrolled in a CCNA course but I am only on chapter two of the book. Just yesterday I learned that CCENT is sufficient for CCVP certification. As I really have no interest in "networking" outside of what is required for voice, I think this is the path for me.

Are there any big drawbacks about having the CCENT instead of CCNA and CCVP? I don't anticipate ever changing employers voluntarily. I have made a career at this company which is rated as one of the best places to work in the Bay Area so I am not concerned about what other companies standard requirements are in voice.

I spoke with the trainer yesterday and he joked about whether I was ready for an intense week. After seeing the 5 books that were delivered that is no understatement. I received CIPT1 vol 1,2,& 3 and TUC vol 1 & 2.

Wish me luck. :D

Comments

• shednikshednik Member Posts: 2,005
    PamelaD wrote: