IS A+ Actually worth it?

garv221garv221 Member Posts: 1,914
Is the A+ exam actually worth cramming for? I have been throwing this idea around for 2 years. It seems anyone in the IT field or any other kind of cert should know A+ work. It seems to be a given. I have been building computers for my company and installing all OS's for 4 years. Slapping a computer together and installing any OS is a joke, its easy. Almost to easy. It just seems like its a given, you really don't need a cert, and I actually never see it as a job requirment except for maybe BENCHTECH.

Comments

• Ricka182Ricka182 Member Posts: 3,359
    Helpdesk, Sys Admin. Two jobs I see all the time that require at minimum A+, if not MCSA/MCSE. Right now, I'm field service, and even that required A+. Even though I have not done a single "PC in the real world" workorder, and mostly retail machines, nor have I seen any use for my A+, other than my MCSA travels. A+ shows more than just basic computer skills, it also shows basic electrical theory, basic networking, and troubleshooting. Building a PC is easier than installing Linux. Knowledge, and proof of it is what employers want.
    i remain, he who remains to be....
  • ajs1976ajs1976 Member Posts: 1,945 ■■■■□□□□□□
    Having it want hurt, but if you want to skip it and work on something more advanced.
    Andy

2020 Goals: 0 of 2 courses complete, 0 of 2 exams complete
  • viper75viper75 Member Posts: 726 ■■■■□□□□□□
    A+ is well worth it. I was looking to see what jobs are out there and I saw a lot of places that require you to at least have the A+ Cert. Would not skip it if I were you. The A+ alone will not land you $50k job but it can get you in the door job\interview.

I suggest you go for that Cert. icon_study.gif

Good Luck!!! :D
    CCNP Security - DONE!
    CCNP R&S - In Progress...
    CCIE Security - Future...
  • janmikejanmike Member Posts: 3,076
    Sounds like you don't need A+ for you present job. But, if you ever