Which group of certificates are most recommended to take?

gilgamargilgamar Member Posts: 7 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hello, I'm new to the world of IT certificates and don't know which certificates are highly regarded. The only one I know anything about is the A+ certificate. I have had tons of exposure to computer systems; networking, programming, hardware and operating systems, yet I don't have anything to show for it and want to get some certifications to make my skills more marketable without having to go to school to relearn everything I have already mostly taught myself.

Comments

• Mrock4Mrock4 Banned Posts: 2,359 ■■■■■■■■□□
    It really depends which route you want to get, and which level you want to be at. For starters, you really can't go wrong with the A+ and/or Network+. If you want to go the route of networking (Cisco), the CCNA is very popular. The CCNP would be the next step up, and is considered a "professional level" certification from Cisco. If you go the route of Microsoft, look into the MCSA, or MCSE, based on your experience.

It ultimately comes down to what you enjoy doing the most..there's probably a cert for it.

Microsoft:
    http://www.microsoft.com/learning/mcp/certifications.mspx

Cisco:
    http://www.cisco.com/web/learning/le3/learning_career_certifications_and_learning_paths_home.html

CompTIA:
    http://certification.comptia.org/
  • gilgamargilgamar Member Posts: 7 ■□□□□□□□□□
    Thanks for the suggestions. Yeah I think I will take the A+ and Network+ certifications for sure and I was also looking at the MCSE. Is the Security+ certificate worth taking to? I'm looking to improve my resume so I can find a better part time job while I finish my physics degree.
  • dynamikdynamik Banned Posts: 12,312 ■■■■■■■■■□