Linux Server which Distro to use

datchchadatchcha Member Posts: 265
Gang,

I'm new to Linux, so I wanted to know which distro and version is good for someone new to Linux. Right now I learning with Red Hat ver. 9 'strike' in client mode, but i want o create a domain and have accounts authnticate with a server to get some real environment hands-on experience.

Thank you,
Datchcha
Arrakis

Comments

• dynamikdynamik Banned Posts: 12,312 ■■■■■■■■■□
    CentOS, OpenSUSE, Debian/Ubuntu, etc.
  • datchchadatchcha Member Posts: 265
    dynamik wrote:
    CentOS, OpenSUSE, Debian/Ubuntu, etc.

do these distros give the option to install a Server version? Example like Red Hat 9.0?

thank you,
    Arrakis
  • sthomassthomas Member Posts: 1,240 ■■■□□□□□□□
    I know for sure that CentOS does have a Server option and Desktop option. Not sure about OpenSUSE, but Ubuntu you have to download the Server version seperatley and it does not install the GUI by default from what I have been told. Check out www.distrowatch.com for information on different Linux distros.
    Working on: MCSA 2012 R2
  • undomielundomiel Member Posts: 2,818
    For openSUSE during install it doesn't present a specific server option but it gives you plenty of options to strip out unnecessary things i.e. a GUI and to add in things like Samba and command line tools. You can basically customize for a workstation or for a server easily.
    Jumping on the IT blogging band wagon -- http://www.jefferyland.com/
  • SlowhandSlowhand Mod Posts: 5,161 Mod
    If you want to learn about the foundations of Linux, then I'd say start by getting yourself a copy of each of the following:

Red Hat (Fedora)
    Debian
    Slackware