My CISSP test experience (Updated: PASSED)

bcairnsbcairns Member Posts: 280
I had been studying for the CISSP exam for a little over six months, the materials I used are:

The Offical ISC2 Book - read this once
The Shon Harris All in One (3rd edition) book - read this once
CISSP Passport book - read this twice
CISSP for Dummies book- read this once
CBT Nuggets CISSP Video Training- watched this once
Shon Harris 2003 DVD Video Training- watched this once
Shon Harris 2007 DVD Video Training- watched this twice

I also used
http://www.cccure.org and http://www.freepracticetests.org and of course http://www.techexams.net icon_lol.gif

I work with about a few people that have obtained the CISSP, they warned me not to underestimate the exam, I am glad that I followed their advice.

On March 15th 2008 I went down to Indianapolis Indiana to take the CISSP exam, with two of my coworkers, it was a five hour drive for us, and that was the closest location - be prepaired to travel if you are going to take this exam.

The night before the exam I could not sleep well - I have been under the weather with a cold, and did not care for the hotel room I was staying in...more so I think I was still sickly with a cold then anything else...needless to say i wolk up at 5:30 AM and could not get back to sleep. So I made an attempt to go over my notes one last time.

Obviously there is a non-disclosure agreement so I really can't go over the exam details. But I will say that while the proctor was reading the rules and taking roll-call, there were FBI, CIA, NSA, DOD, and a few other interesting companies in the room. I looked around the room while he took attendance and it became obvious at 33 years old I was the youngest person in the room.

The test was long...it took me three hours to get through it one time. I marked my answers in the test booklet putting a "+" sign next to the correct answer and a "-" sign next to the ones I thought were wrong.