So whats really needed in your opinion?

finchx6finchx6 Member Posts: 24 ■□□□□□□□□□
Alright, I'm currently a graphics artist, and I've got my AS degree in digital imaging and design. However, before graduating high school, I obtained the A+ and the Network+ certifications. Well, I'm wanting to get back into the IT field, but I'm not exactly sure where I should start when it comes to my education and certifications.

I currently plan on getting my CCNP and MCSE. I'd also like to obtain at least one linux certification. I have been keeping up with technology and networking quite well so I don't feel any of those should pose much of a threat.

My question is basically this: I've heard from many that getting my bachelors in something such as Information Systems, or Information Technology would help infinitely, where as at the same time, I've heard from a significant amount of people that its overrated, and if I can prove myself through certifications, then it should be enough.

What are your thoughts, theories, and/or opinions??

thanks,
finch
"Suicide hotline... please hold..."

Comments

• dynamikdynamik Banned Posts: 12,312 ■■■■■■■■■□
    Before this turns into a crazy experience vs. degrees vs. certification thread, I'll tell you what I typically see.

The combination of a degree, experience and certifications is your best bet.

If you could have only one of the three, experience would be most beneficial.

A degree and/or certifications will help you get your foot in the door if you lack experience.

Every situation is different, and there's no right way to go about it. Since you have some education and some certifications, I would encourage you to start focusing on gaining some experience, even if it's menial help-desk work.

Also, be sure to review JD's really good career opportunity equation.