Why IP AND MAC Address?

DingdongbubbleDingdongbubble Member Posts: 105 ■■□□□□□□□□
I am studying for my Network+. I ahve a small question:

Why do they have two addresses? Why do they have both the IP and the MAC Address? Why not just the MAc Address?

Comments

• MishraMishra Member Posts: 2,468 ■■■■□□□□□□
    MAC addresses do not have the ability to be subnetted. MAC addresses also are just used to identify the actual NIC. Remember, every NIC has a unique MAC address. But if I were asking this question, it would help me a lot to know something that uses both technologies. So hopefully to give an example where both are used will help.

NAT - Network Address Translation:

When you have a router at home, it runs network address translation to be able to use 1 IP address for multiple computers in a LAN. When computers want to pass traffic to the internet, it will pass through the router. What the router does is strips the internal IP address (192.168.0.100 or whatever) and will put the public IP address of the router in its place (www.whatismyip.com). But in layer 2 it will continue to store the MAC address of the computer while passing traffic to the internet. When the packet comes back to the router by using the public IP instead of the internal IP, it can take the MAC address that was still stored in the packet information and look at its ARP table. The ARP table will tell the router its internal IP and it can then send that information to the correct computer on the LAN.
    My blog http://www.calegp.com

You may learn something!
  • DingdongbubbleDingdongbubble Member Posts: 105 ■■□□□□□□□□
    hmmm so instead of all this why dont people jsut communicate on the internet using their MAc addresses? They would be represented as individual hosts on the internet instead of all this translation and routing business. icon_rolleyes.gif

I am new so maybe my questions sound dumb.