The beast is slain!

disaster_pigeondisaster_pigeon Member Posts: 11 ■□□□□□□□□□
720, worst MCP pass score yet, but I'll take it! The test had more RRAS and security than I expected, I focused more on DNS and DHCP when I studied.
INCONCEIVABLE. You keep using that word. I do not think it means what you think it means.

Comments

• royalroyal Member Posts: 3,352 ■■■■□□□□□□
    Congrats. You won't see too much RRAS in real world as routing is typically done by Cisco/Nortel/Etc. devices. The same goes for DHCP Relays (DHCP IP Helper Address in your hardware routers). The only real benefit I see for RRAS would be VPN for very tiny businesses (which includes SSTP in Server 200icon_cool.gif.

DNS and DHCP, on the other hand, are much more widely used. So from a real world perspective, it's better to have spent more time on DNS and DHCP.
    “For success, attitude is equally as important as ability.” - Harry F. Banks
  • brad-brad- Member Posts: 1,218
    Gratz!

Would you mind saying how much previous exp. you had, what you used to study, and how long you prepared...im trying to gauge how long I'll need to prep.
  • disaster_pigeondisaster_pigeon Member Posts: 11 ■□□□□□□□□□
    You are correct about the RRAS royal, we use Cisco at my work and don't touch RRAS, so I didn't think it would be a big part on the exam because hardly anyone uses it.
    INCONCEIVABLE. You keep using that word. I do not think it means what you think it means.
    Brad, I've got 6 months experience as a Jr. Network Engineer in a hosting/data center environment now, mostly Server 2k3 admin stuff with Cisco switch/router config duties. Previous to that no IT work experience; I've always been a techie, it just used to be more on the software development side. I used the Sybex book/MS Book and my VMWare test environment that I built for my MCSE studies (best investment you can make, if I build it myself I understand it). I prepared for this one for two months, maybe an hour a day average.