without expriance pass CCVP??

Tish2008Tish2008 Member Posts: 14 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hi...

just joined the forum, and i went through the faq section which answered many of the questiosn i had....

it was very good.... and thank you...

my background is i am working for a company who does networking set ups, i work as an assistant to my network administrator.

I am a ccna, and heading for ccvp, i just joined my current job, and i don,t see anyway i can get practicle exposure on the job to match ccvp.

is this exam posible to attain without experiance but going through study materials and books??
And in the end, it's not the years in a life that count. It's the life in your years...

Comments

• mikej412mikej412 Member Posts: 10,086 ■■■■■■■■■■
    You can gain the knowledge by reading the books and Cisco Documentation -- but you develop the skills by practicing them. You'd want to spend as much time as possible working hands-on in a lab environment -- at home, work, or school -- so that you understand the CCVP material and can apply it in a real job environment.

If you look at the topics for the 5 CCVP Exams on the Cisco CCVP Page, you find several of them have a large number of Configure, Implement, Troubleshoot, etc topics.

Learning CallManager (or Cisco Unified Communications Manager) without having a CallManager Server would be difficult -- but some people have done it. Some people have used CallManager Express loaded on a router -- which is better than nothing.

Building a complete voice lab at home could be expensive -- but rack rental is an option. Build what you can afford, then rent the rest. As you probably saw in the CCVP FAQ, the old MC3810s still have a lot of phone calls left in them, and a couple would be a good start for a home Voice Lab.
    :mike: Cisco Certifications -- Collect the Entire Set!
  • Tish2008Tish2008 Member Posts: 14 ■□□□□□□□□□
    HI mikej412,

Thank you, it was a good insight for the question I had.