Security Certification, Advice Needed!

habibalbyhabibalby Member Posts: 11 ■□□□□□□□□□
Dear All,

I just finished my MCSA + Security by learning from MSPress, Learnkey, Train Signal, CBT Nuggets and other white papers and testing on lab environment using VMWare ESX Server 3.0.

I wanted to be a Security Specialized and a VCP Vi3 3.0 Specialized in Security Implementations and Designing Security.

I'm a beginner in the Security Field, and I wanted to be a Security Consultant, Implementer in Technical Side or Security Administrator. I'm mostly focusing on the technical side.

What is your advice to me? to go for 70-298, then VCP? or the VCP first followed by 70-298, CCSP, and other Certification track?

Your suggestion, guidance, ideas are highly appreciated.

BR,
Habibalby

Comments

• HeroPsychoHeroPsycho Inactive Imported Users Posts: 1,940
    The Microsoft MCSE/MCSA security specializations aren't highly respected typically for security positions. Not to dissuade you from pursuing them, but if you really want to get into more higher end security work, that's probably not going to do it.

You really want a certification like CISSP or something like that. If you don't have enough documented work experience for that, you should focus on getting the work experiences and certs that help you get those to do so. Honestly, most any higher end work in general has something to do with Security. For example, if you work as a Windows administrator, you might be doing work with hardening servers, creating users and groups to access certain data, patch management, etc.

Getting that kind of experience requires broad certifications of a higher level, such as MCSE and VCP.