Options

Working with C# and Java?

Is anybody working in an environment with both C# and Java? I am a C# programmer and was asked to write some sample code to help Java programmers understand how to interface with specific Microsoft Windows technologies. I think such samples would be nearly useless to Java programmers because of the differences in interfaces of the .NET Framework and the Java classes. However, I may be wrong here. Java programmers often translate C++ with Win32 calls to Java, so maybe the same is also commonly done with C# as well. If it isn't then I have no choice but to learn Java.

Comments

• Options
    vegetaholicvegetaholic Member Posts: 38 ■■□□□□□□□□
    There are many developers who know both Java and C# but program in Only one.Because both
    language for same work, you know.Well he may be told you to write C# classes and C# classes
    are on high-extent similar to Java classes.

When you create C# classes try to avoid use of pointers and unsafe operations.

I know c# and Java is quite similar but C# syntax is more like C++ and there are many Java programmer who know c++ or c so it could be easy for them to understand the classes.

Well,I could be easy for you to learn Java because C# is Java's evil twin.

But the guy who know Java moves to C# learns new things and the guy who turns from C#
    to Java leaves many things.It's true ,It's damn true.

One more question,you have many certs which are not related to development then
    how come you want to learn Java?

LOL,I am asking even when I had to answer. :P
    You can't kill Java because he is sun of king C.
  • Options
    JDMurrayJDMurray Admin Posts: 13,028 Admin
    One more question,you have many certs which are not related to development then how come you want to learn Java?
    I am a lone C# developer who works in a Java shop. At some point I'll need to "drink the Java" and I'm just trying to prepare for that day.
  • Options