concerns

leekleek Member Posts: 11 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hello,

I currently hold an CCNA, MCTS, SEC+ and will be taking the SND (1st part of CCSP) next week.

My concerns are that I am currently a network performance analyst trying to get into the security field however I am finding it difficult to make the transition as I have no experience. If I progress on and complete the CCSP will employees be expecting me to jump into a position and start using hardware straight away ? or is this cert more useful in actually getting the position?

My concern is that as I am not using the hardware daily I will pass the exam on memory then forget everything

Lee

Comments

• livenliven Member Posts: 918
    I don't think it is going to hurt you to have a CCSP. But I wouldn't count on it granting you a security admin position.

It takes time, and chances are if you get a security job it will not be just firewall or IPS administration.

But, the more knowledge you have of security and the systems involved the better off you will be.

So I say go for it, and when your done there keep learning about security. Security plus, or perhaps SSCP.
    encrypt the encryption, never mind my brain hurts.
  • dynamikdynamik Banned Posts: 12,312 ■■■■■■■■■□
    leek wrote:
    My concern is that as I am not using the hardware daily I will pass the exam on memory then forget everything

Maybe rent rack time every couple weeks or once a month and run through a lab. Why don't you just go for a security CCIE? That will keep things fresh in your mind ;)
  • livenliven Member Posts: 918
    dynamik wrote:
    leek wrote:

Maybe rent rack time every couple weeks or once a month and run through a lab. Why don't you just go for a security CCIE? That will keep things fresh in your mind ;)

Bump

hahaha

it will be hard with out some hands on....

Now that i think about it... You will probably not retain much if you don't have some sort of simulator or some other method to actually practice configs...