Options

Is 60,000 a year unrealistic?

Rising TechieRising Techie Member Posts: 7 ■□□□□□□□□□
I'm currently trying to finish up my MCSE. Already have A+, Net+, MCSA and will have Sec+ by the time I get my MCSE. I've been working for the same company for over 5 years and I have some college although I never completed it. Right now, I'm the only IT guy in my office so naturally, I'm the IT Department Manager. Actually, we didn't even have an IT department when I started there. That's how I got my foot in the door. I basically built it from the ground up. I do everything IT related and then some. My main duties involve application and database development with Microsoft Office and VBA as well as network admnistration for a 21 client Win98 peer-to-peer network (not even one Win2k machine). I also created our company website, restructured our entire network, and handle all major data management projects. Have to work with a very limited budget which is part of the reason we don't use Win2k. I'm currently bringing in about 31K a year, which isn't bad for the area we are in. I want to stay my course with the company at least until I finish the MCSE track but after that I intend on finding a better paying job, unless they up the anty a lot (Which may happen but I doubt it). I don't really care what kind of work I wind up doing since I have a background in and I love all areas of IT. Actually, I love my current job. It just doesn't pay real well. My main concern is the money at this point. I'm just hoping to find a job paying in the ball park of 60K a year. How realistic is that considering my experience and the certifications I'm shooting for? The only thing I see hurting me is that my corporation is kind of small, (although I have an enormous amount of information that I'm responsible for) and I don't have a lot of experience with Win2k in a production environment. Lots of hands-ons, just not hands-on in the workplace. What are my odds? P.S. I don't plan on stopping after