ISO 27001 Certified Professionals

nangananga Member Posts: 201
Hi,
Guys, I am looking for a career in information security. After going through jobs postings i found that there is more of skills required in - ISO 27001, and compliance standards.

I would be thankful if you guys could please let me know how to go about getting those skills.

I am a security+, ccna and doing an internship with no big experince with a masters in IT Mgmt.

Thanks in advance

Comments

• eMeSeMeS Member Posts: 1,875 ■■■■■■■■■□
    I am familiar with the ISO 27001 standard, but I know of no specific certification that "qualifies" someone to implement, advise, or audit against ISO 27001. This is very different from ISO 20000, for which I am a certified consultant (there is also an auditor certification available).

I suspect that this situation is because with ISO 20000 a large body of knowledge existed around IT Service Management, for which there were already well-developed certification schemes in place. It was probably a natural outgrowth of these organization to build certification for ISO 20000.

The other part of this is that the high-end security certifications (e.g., CISSP), very likely account for ISO 27001. I once read about HIPAA "certifications" being a total scam, because the certifications weren't well respected, and the material was already something that a qualified CISSP would know.

Perhaps a CISSP can provide their thoughts...

If you are looking only for some specific ISO 27001 training, I would recommend BSI at: http://www.bsiamerica.com/en-us/Training/Course-areas/Information-security-training/

MS
  • maumercadomaumercado Member Posts: 163
    What are the requirements to become ISO 27000 certified?
    Im a secury analyst for a small company in colombia that specializes in software testing an QA, we would like to have our security department iso 27000 certified! thats why im asking this!
    maumercado wrote: