SSCP study and endorsement question

KakKak Member Posts: 2 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hi all,

I am a security engineer [mainly firewalls/AV etc] for an ISP with over 5 years experience. I passed the Security + 2 years ago. I have also passed the CISMP which is the British Computer Societies equivalent to the Security+/SSCP. I meet all the relevant criteia to take the CISSP exam, but I have decided to take the SSCP intially and once completed I will move over to the CISSP. The reason for this is a confidence thing. Plus I suspect once I have passed the SSCP I will continue straight onto the CISSP so the progression should be much easier!

My questions:

1) Study material? I will use cccure.org, but I do a lot of running so ideally would like a MP3 version of a SSCP book I can stick on my player. Any suggestions? If not, I was considering recording my reading from a book, but this takes time. The forum has recomended CISSP Certification All-in-One Exam Guide, 4th Ed. (All-in-One). Would this be recommended reading for the SSCP too?
2) I am aware that I require endoresment exclusively from an (ISC)²-certified professional in good standing. I do not know anybody! Our Business & Security Manager is not SSCP/CISSP qualified. Suggestions?

Regards

Kak

Comments

• JDMurrayJDMurray Admin Posts: 13,023 Admin
    Kak wrote:
    1) Study material? I will use cccure.org, but I do a lot of running so ideally would like a MP3 version of a SSCP book I can stick on my player. Any suggestions? If not, I was considering recording my reading from a book, but this takes time. The forum has recomended CISSP Certification All-in-One Exam Guide, 4th Ed. (All-in-One). Would this be recommended reading for the SSCP too?
    Besides the Official (ISC)2 SSCP Study Guide, Shon Harris' AIO CISSP is the one to study for the SSCP as well. I'm taking the SSCP on April 27th and those are my two primary texts. The Information Security Management Handbook by Tipton et al. is my third.
    Kak wrote: