Very Frustrated

chelchchelch Member Posts: 50 ■■□□□□□□□□
I have just about given up all hope in finding a job. I have no experience in the IT field which I know is hurting me big time. The only thing I have is an A+ cert which I recieved with studying on my own. I know hardware and os's pretty well and have been building my own computers all my life, but that doesnt pay me. EVERY job I find it says experience is needed to be considered. How do I get experience if no one will hire me??

I am very willing to take the lowest IT job in the world just to get my foot in the door. Does anyone have any advice,recommendations or stories on how they got there foot in the door. Thanks

Comments

• garv221garv221 Member Posts: 1,914
    LOL, I got lucky. Start off small...Due work study at your college campus
  • JrmiconJrmicon Member Posts: 26 ■□□□□□□□□□
    Where do you live? I have been doing help desk/doman admin for my company for almost 2 years but I am leaving as of this Friday to move on to a Network Intigration Tech position. If you are in the MD/DC/VA area let me know.
  • /usr/usr Member Posts: 1,768
    You can't really get a job anymore with just A+.
    chelch wrote:
    How do I get experience if no one will hire me??

There are jobs out there! If you have hit the pavement and still cannot get a job, my advice is go to school. Get a degree and a MCSE... You will not have a problem getting a foot in the door with an MCSE & Degree. A+ just doesn't cut it, its a given.
  • janmikejanmike Member Posts: 3,076
    I'm seeing more IT jobs offered now than I was seeing a year ago. Problem, of course, experience.

However, there are opportunities, but you have to be vigilant. And you have to keep trying. If a posting calls for some experience, apply anyway.
    You have to apply before people will hire you.