Is an MCSE still perceived as prestigous?

binarysoulbinarysoul Member Posts: 993
I'm wondering if in addition to experience, an MCSE is still seen as important and valubale as it used to be. I know there are other factors that makes a candidate valuable, but how much of a difference MCSE should make (all other things being equal).

It seems to me that nowadays almost any IT job (exlcuding programmers) asks for an MCSE as if it were too easy to gain. So, is MCSE seen as a skills that falls under "other" skills are as "the" skill?

Edit: The reason I mention is 'cause I'm studying for 70-291 and it's a 700-page book. If we sweat days and nights to learn about 4,000 pages and crunch with hardware/software, an MCSE deserves serious importance.

Comments

• blargoeblargoe Member Posts: 4,174 ■■■■■■■■■□
    I think it's important. I think it is still worth a lot, but I wouldn't consider it "highly valuable" as it once was, there's so many MCSE's out there now.
    IT guy since 12/00

Recent: 11/2019 - RHCSA (RHEL 7); 2/2019 - Updated VCP to 6.5 (just a few days before VMware discontinued the re-cert policy...)
    Working on: RHCE/Ansible
    Future: Probably continued Red Hat Immersion, Possibly VCAP Design, or maybe a completely different path. Depends on job demands...
  • hettyhetty Member Posts: 394
    I still think its the the skill for admin work, but by itself its not worth as much. You could say that about CCNA as well. But if you start to add a few certs together it starts to paint a well rounded person technically, add that to experience and its all good.
  • dynamikdynamik Banned Posts: 12,312 ■■■■■■■■■□
    binarysoul wrote:
    I'm wondering if in addition to experience, an MCSE is still seen as important and valubale as it used to be. I know there are other factors that makes a candidate valuable, but how much of a difference MCSE should make (all other things being equal).