Options

Anyone have any experience using Recruiters?

xeviousxevious Member Posts: 59 ■■□□□□□□□□
I have never used a recruiter before. Well, today I had a pre-screening interview with a one.

After the meeting, they mentioned 2 possible positions that I might qualify for and said they would e-mail me the info. I thought it was just smoke-n-mirrors to give me a sense of hope but sure enough I received the e-mail. I have to rewrite my resume per their request since it stinks - I have to agree. Either way, I'm a little taken back since I have been searching on my own with little success.

If anyone has any positive or negative experience with recruiters, I'd appreciate your comments.

-Xevious

Comments

• Options
    w^rl0rdw^rl0rd Member Posts: 329
    I've had the same experience, but it was with a "staffing agency." I guess they get paid to screen applicants and send companies the best employees they can find since they don't have the personell to do it in house.
  • Options
    halflife78halflife78 Member Posts: 122
    I have my resume in with a couple local ones, nothing bad to report on them.

Easiest way to think about them is they don't get paid until someone is hired that fits the company they are hiring for needs, so they want to fill jobs that come to them with the right people so business keeps coming to them.
  • Options
    bighit1bighit1 Member Posts: 5 ■□□□□□□□□□
    My experience with recruiters hasn't been good over the last 4 years. They do not have the same access to the department heads that do the hiring like they did in the glory days. Now, they have to deal with Human Resources just like we.

A lot of recruiters can't differentiate between different types of information technology/telecommunications jobs. So if you do use a recruiter, make sure he or she understands your skill set.