MCSA or MCSE Professionals.

IT Pro's,

Are there any MCSA or MCSE professionals who will kindly be able to explain how long it took them to become fully certified. (Months or Years?)

I am intrigued to know the time scale. This applys to Full-Time Students & Full-Time employee's.

Thanks.

p.s For those fully certified, Congratulations & good luck with the future of certs! :)

Comments

• dave0212dave0212 Member Posts: 287
    I took about 3.5 years from passing A+ to passing 70-296 to get my MCSE 2000/2003. MCSA took about a year.

I didn't study constantly over that time and also squeezed in a CCNA. I studied to further my career so I studied to a point, got a job, mastered that job and studied to move on. I officially finished my MCSE 2000 in Oct 2007 and upgraded to 2003 by Feb 2008 but the upgrade was more through requirement than anything as the exams were expiring and I wanted the 2003 MCSE without having to complete the entire track. Luckily I had been working with 2003 for over a year before taking those exams so knew the product well.

If I studied solidly I reckon I could have completed it in 6-12 months, but I wouldn't have the experience I have now and probably wouldn't be earning what I do now. If I was a hirer I would be reluctant to hire someone with an MCSE with no commercial experience but I know this happens icon_eek.gif

Hope this provides some good insight
    This week I have achieved unprecedented levels of unverifiable productivity

Working on
    Learning Python and OSCP
  • danclarkedanclarke Member Posts: 160
    It has taken me a little over 2 years to get to MCSE - mainly because the studying has been part-time and not directly related to my current work. A summary of my certification progress would be (as far as I can remember):

November 2005: A+
    December 2005: Network+

April 2006: 70-270
    April 2007: 70-290
    July 2007: 70-291 *** MCSA ***

Dec 2007: 70-293
    Jan 2008: 70-294
    March 2008: 70-297